ece

Faculty

fac

Ali Abur

Professor
abur@ece.neu.edu, Office: 329 Dana, Phone: 617.373.3051
Power system state estimation, visualization of power system operation and fault identification in transmission and distribution networks.
fac

Stefano Basagni

Associate Professor
basagni@ece.neu.edu, Office: 312 Dana, Phone: 617.373.3061
Wireless networks, ad hoc, mesh and sensor networking, and protocol design and testing.
fac

Dana Brooks

Professor
brooks@ece.neu.edu, Office: 423 Dana, Phone: 617.373.3352
Biomedical signal processing, Medical imaging, Statistical signal processing, Inverse problems, Multiresolution signal processing, Electrocardiography, Diffuse optical tomography, Magnetic resonance imaging, Regularization, Optimization
fac

Octavia Camps

Professor
camps@ece.neu.edu, Office: 322 Dana, Phone: 617.373.4663
Robust computer vision, image processing, and machine learning
fac

Kaushik Chowdhury

Assistant Professor
krc@ece.neu.edu, Office: 308 Dana, Phone: 617.373.5304
Wireless cognitive radio networks, ad hoc and sensor networks, experimentation and protocol design for communication systems, applications of wireless technology in multimedia delivery and healthcare.
fac

Anthony Devaney

Professor
devaney@ece.neu.edu, Office: 428 Dana, Phone: 617.373.5284
Electromagnetic wave propagation, inverse scattering tomography.
fac

Charles DiMarzio

Associate Professor
dimarzio@ece.neu.edu, Office: 216 LH, Phone: 617.373.2034
Optics, microscopy, coherent detection, interaction of light and sound waves, hyperspectral imaging, diffusive optical tomography and ultrasound, landmine detection, magneto-optic sensors, and multi-model imaging. Activities include computer modeling, designing, building, and testing of hardware, and processing the resulting data.
fac

Stephen W. Director

Provost and Professor
s.director@ece.neu.edu, Office: 112 Hayden, Phone: 617.373.4517
fac

Jennifer Dy

Associate Professor
jdy@ece.neu.edu, Office: 334 Dana, Phone: 617.373.3062
Machine learning, data mining, statistical pattern recognition, content-based image retrieval computer vision and image processing.
fac

Deniz Erdogmus

Associate Professor
erdogmus@ece.neu.edu, Office: 422 Dana, Phone: 617.373.3021
Brain computer interfaces, cognitive and interactive systems, nonlinear and statistical signal processing, information theory, machine learning.
fac

Amir Farhat

Academic Specialist
farhat@ece.neu.edu, Office: 415 Dana, Phone: 617.373.3024
Integrated Circuits, Solid State Devices
fac

Yunsi Fei

Associate Professor
yfei@ece.neu.edu, Office: 318 Dana, Phone: 617.373.2039

Computer Architecture, Embedded Systems, Hardware-oriented Security, Design Automation, Mobile Computing, Underwater Sensor Networks

fac

Yun Raymond Fu

Assistant Professor
yunfu@ece.neu.edu, Office: 403 Dana, Phone: 617.373.7328
Machine Learning, Human-Computer Interaction, Social Media Analytics, Cyber-Physical Systems
fac

Vincent Harris

University Distinguished Professor William Lincoln Smith Chair Professor
harris@ece.neu.edu, Office: 301 Dana, Phone: 617.373.7603
Design and processing of advance magnetic materials with emphasis on materials for high frequency applications;understanding the struction, processing and magnetism relationship of materials; synchrotron radiation characterization of materials with emphasis on extended x-ray absorption fine structure.
fac

Sheila S. Hemami

Professor & Chair
hemami@ece.neu.edu, Office: 407 Dana, Phone: 617.373.7878
Multimedia signal processing, Image & video compression & transmission, Visual psychophysics
fac

Vinay Ingle

Associate Professor
vingle@ece.neu.edu, Office: 304 Dana, Phone: 617.373.3008
Multidimensional signal processing and image processing.
fac

David Kaeli

COE Distinguished Professor
kaeli@ece.neu.edu, Office: 333 Dana, Phone: 617.373.5413
Biocomputing, computer architecture, branch prediction studies, I/O workload characterization, memory hierarchy design, object-oriented code execution performance, 3-D vlsi design, and back-end compiler design.
fac

Yong-Bin Kim

Associate Professor
ybk@ece.neu.edu, Office: 327 Dana, Phone: 617.373.2919
Bio-chip, bio sensor, bio sensor interface circuit design, electronic neuron circuit design, low power adaptive robot controller circuit design.
High performance and low power VLSI design, system-on-chip (soc), innovative VLSI circuit and system application, and Physical VLSI CAD.
fac

Engin Kirda

Associate Professor
ek@ccs.neu.edu, Office: 202 WVH, Phone: 617.373.7484
Malware analysis and detection, web security, social network security, reverse engineering, intrusion detection.
fac

Mieczyslaw Kokar

Professor
mkokar@ece.neu.edu, Office: 305 Dana, Phone: 617.373.4849
Software engineering, information fusion, intelligent control, artificial intelligence/machine learning.
fac

Miriam Leeser

Professor
mel@ece.neu.edu, Office: 316 Dana, Phone: 617.373.3814
Biocomputing, reconfigurable hardware, hardware design tools, hardware description languages, hardware implementation of image and digital processing algorithms.
fac

Bradley Lehman

Professor
lehman@ece.neu.edu, Office: 421 Dana, Phone: 617.373.3052
Power electronics, dc-dc converters, pulse width modulation, motion control, electric motor drives, analog circuits, control theory, differential equations, time delays, nonlinear systems and control, industrial control.
fac

Hanoch Lev-Ari

Professor
levari@ece.neu.edu, Office: 426 Dana, Phone: 617.373.3032
Adaptive filtering, statistical signal processing, spectrum analysis and estimation, networked dynamic state estimation.
fac

Yongmin Liu

Assistant Professor
ymliu@ece.neu.edu, Office: 404 Dana, Phone: 617.373.4457
Nano optics, nanoscale materials and engineering, nano devices, plasmonics, metamaterials, and applied physics
fac

Fabrizio Lombardi

Professor
lombardi@ece.neu.edu, Office: 425 Dana, Phone: 617.373.4854
Fault-tolerant computing, VLSI CAD, testing, configurable computing, distributed systems.
fac

Bala Maheswaran

Senior Academic Specialist
mahes@coe.neu.edu, Office: 367 SN, Phone: 617.373.5905
Engineering and Engineering Physics education
fac

Edwin Marengo

Associate Professor
emarengo@ece.neu.edu, Office: 327 Stearns, Phone: 617.373.3358
Wave inverse problems, scattering theory, compressive sensing. Physics-based signal processing and imaging, inverse problems in remote sensing and antenna theory, and electromagnetic theory.
fac

Jose Martinez

Assistant Professor
jmartinez@coe.neu.edu, Office: 207 Snell, Phone: 617.373.6835
Antenna analysis, modeling, design, and optimization, subsurface scattering analysis, computational methods of electromagnetics, novel radar system specification and design, explosives detection.
fac

Nicol McGruer

Professor
mcgruer@ece.neu.edu, Office: 326 Dana, Phone: 617.373.2066
MEMS, MOEMS, microfabrication, microsystems, microrelay, microspectrometer, optical switching, optical MEMS.
fac

Steve McKnight

Professor
mcknight@ece.neu.edu, Office: 302 Stearns, Phone: 617.373.2060
Research and submillimeter devices and materials, optical and infrared materials and systems.
fac

Waleed Meleis

Associate Professor
meleis@ece.neu.edu, Office: 320 Dana, Phone: 617.373.3023
Combinatorial optimization, algorithm design and analysis, scheduling, machine learning, parallel computing.
fac

Ningfang Mi

Assistant Professor
ningfang@ece.neu.edu, Office: 302 Dana, Phone: 617.373.3028
Storage systems, multi-tier enterprise systems, performance evaluation, energy/power management, simulation, data analysis, system modeling, and scheduling/load balancing.
fac

Hossein Mosallaei

Associate Professor
hosseinm@ece.neu.edu, Office: 332 Dana, Phone: 617.373.7354
Electromagnetics and Optics, Quantum Systems, Nanoscale Materials and Metamaterials, Nanoantennas, THz-IR Devices, Multiscale Computation and Mathematical-Numerical Models
fac

Mark Niedre

Associate Professor
mniedre@ece.neu.edu, Office: 213B LH, Phone: 617.373.5410
Biomedical optics and non-invasive imaging, Rare cell detection and tracking in the body, Ultrafast time-domain diffuse optical imaging, Image reconstruction and biomedical signal processing.
fac

Marvin Onabajo

Assistant Professor
monabajo@ece.neu.edu, Office: 402 Dana, Phone: 617.373.3452
Design of analog, radio frequency, and mixed-signal integrated circuits; built-in test and calibration techniques for systems-on-a-chip; on-chip temperature sensors for thermal monitoring and built-in testing.
fac

Carey Rappaport

Professor
rappaport@ece.neu.edu, Office: 302 Stearns, Phone: 617.373.2043
Bioelectromagnetics, microwave tissue imaging, electromagnetic breast cancer detection and treatment, cardiac ablation therapy, microwave assisted balloon angioplasty, catheter-based sensing. Antennas, electromagnetic computation, subsurface sensing and imaging, explosives detection, security system conceptualization and design.
fac

Purnima Ratilal

Associate Professor
purnima@ece.neu.edu, Office: 312 Sterns, Phone: 617.373.8458
Remote Sensing, Underwater Acoustics, Acoustical Oceanography, Bioacoustics, Ultrasound Imaging, Nonlinear Scattering, Wave Propagation in Random Media, Signal, Image and Array Processing, Statistical Inference Theory.
fac

Matteo Rinaldi

Assistant Professor
rinaldi@ece.neu.edu, Office: 331 Dana, Phone: 617.373.2751
Design and fabrication of a new class of micro/nano electromechanical systems (MEMS/NEMS) devices suitable for the implementation of high performance and miniaturized sensing platforms that can be used in a wide range of application areas such as homeland security, health care, environmental monitoring, aerospace and telecommunications
fac

Wil Robertson

Assistant Professor
wkr@ccs.neu.edu, Office: 260 WVH, Phone: 617.373.2136
Trustworthy computing architectures, web security, statistical machine learning for anomaly detection, malware analysis using adversarial program analysis, reverse engineering, intrusion detection.
fac

Masoud Salehi

Associate Professor
salehi@ece.neu.edu, Office: 314 Dana, Phone: 617.373.2446
Error correcting codes, information theory, digital communications, source coding, and data compression.
fac

Gunar Schirner

Assistant Professor
schirner@ece.neu.edu, Office: 328 Dana, Phone: 617.373.5707
Embedded computer systems, electronic system-level design and methodologies, modeling and analysis of embedded systems, synthesis of embedded software and hardware.
fac

Philip Serafim

Professor
serafim@ece.neu.edu, Office: 424 Dana, Phone: 617.373.2063
Electromagnetics, microwaves, remote sensing.
fac

Bahram Shafai

Professor
shafai@ece.neu.edu, Office: 427 Dana, Phone: 617.373.2984
Control systems, digital signal processing, robust control.
fac

Michael Silevitch

Professor
m.silevitch@neu.edu, Office: 302 Stearns, Phone: 617.373.3033
Electron devices, plasma theory, upper -atmospheric phenomena.
fac

Dagmar Sternad

Professor
d.sternad@neu.edu, Office: 503 Richards, Phone: 617.373.5093
Human movement control, motor learning and adaptation, rehabilitation, dynamic modeling, stability, noise and control, rhythmic movements and coupled oscillator models.
fac

Milica Stojanovic

Professor
millitsa@ece.neu.edu, Office: 413 Dana, Phone: 617.373.5112
Wireless communications and networks, underwater acoustic transmission, statistical system characterization, adaptive signal processing.
fac

Nian X. Sun

Professor
nian@ece.neu.edu, Office: 417 Dana, Phone: 617.373.3351
Magnetic, ferroelectric and magnetoelectric materials; RF/microwave magnetic and magnetoelectric devices design, fabrication and testing; materials properties at RF/microwave frequency range; self-assembly of magnetic nanostructures.
fac

Mario Sznaier

Dennis Picard Trustee Professor
msznaier@ece.neu.edu, Office: 420 Dana, Phone: 617.373.5364
Robust control, reduced order models, video-based control, applications to dynamics in imaging and video processing, information extraction from high volume data streams.
fac

Gilead Tadmor

Professor
tadmor@ece.neu.edu, Office: 414 Dana, Phone: 617.373.5277
Applications of dynamics in imaging, robust and nonlinear control, reduced order models, fluid flow control.
fac

Carmine Vittoria

Professor
vittoria@ece.neu.edu, Office: 330 Dana, Phone: 617.373.2061
Elemagnetic wave propagation in anisotropic media, physics of magnetism, high tc superconductors and weak link devices, and ferrites and composites magnetic metal alloys and magnetic superlattices miniature microwave circuits.
fac

Edmund Yeh

Associate Professor
eyeh@ece.neu.edu, Office: 416 Dana, Phone: 617.373.5400
Future internet architecture, cross-layer design and optimization of wireless networks, wireless network science, network economics, wireless sensor networks. Network information theory and coding. Smart power grids.

Affiliated Faculty

fac

George Adams

Professor
Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
adams_g@coe.neu.edu, Office: 334 Snell, Phone: 617.373.3826
Contact mechanics including adhesion, friction, and plasticity. Modeling and analysis of Microelectromechanical Systems (MEMS), especially microswitch contacts. Modeling and analysis in Nanomechanics, especially of frictional and adhesive interactions of carbon nanotubes with various surfaces
fac

Joseph Ayers

Professor
Biology
j.ayers@neu.edu, Office: 134 Mugar, Phone: 781.581.7370
Development of underwater robots for civil infrastructure and explosive sensing; neurophysiology and behavior biomimetics
fac

Ralf Birken

Research Assistant Professor
Civil and Environmental Engineering
r.birken@neu.edu, Office: 501 Stearns, Phone: 617.373.5615
Electromagnetic Geophysics, Near-Surface Geophysics, Integration of Multi-Channel Multi-Domain Sensors into Geophysical Subsurface Imaging Systems, and Non-Destructive Testing
fac

Ahmed Busnaina

Professor
Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
busnaina@coe.neu.edu, Office: 447 Snell, Phone: 617.373.2992
Nano Engineering, nano and micro-contamination control , particulate and chemical contamination and defects, high rate nanomanufacturing, MEMS and NEMS devices with micro and nano-scale channels, nanomaterials
fac

Gene Cooperman

Professor
College of Computer & Information Systems
g.cooperman@neu.edu, Office: 202 WVH, Phone: 617.373.8686
High-performance computing and large applications in computational algebra
fac

Michael Epstein

Associate Professor
Speech & Language Pathology & Audiology
m.epstein@neu.edu, Office: 133 Forsyth, Phone: 617.373.5424
Intersection of psychoacoustics and physiology
fac

Mary Florentine

Matthews Distinguished University Professor
Speech & Language Pathology & Audiology
m.florentine@neu.edu, Office: 226 Forsyth, Phone: 617.373.2497
Auditory Neuroscience, Perceptual Acoustics (Psychoacoustics, especially loudness). Ecologically valid auditory perception. Basic processing and models of normal hearing and hearing losses. Cross-cultural attitudes towards noise and annoyance. Hearing-loss prevention through education. Ability of non-native listeners to understand speech in noise
fac

Stephen Intille

Associate Professor
Computer and Information Science
s.intille@neu.edu, Office: 202 WVHOffice 450, Phone: 617.373.3711
Applying pattern recognition and sensor-driven healthcare technologies to measure physical activity and promote behavior changes that improve health
fac

Holly Jimison

Professor of Practice
Computer & Information Science and Bouvé College of Health Sciences
h.jimison@neu.edu, Office: 476 WVH, Phone: 617.373.2381
Technology-based health interventions for successful aging and scalable remote care
fac

Dmitri Krioukov

Associate Professor
Physics
dima@neu.edu, Office: 617.373.2934
Big data analytics and practical applications, mathematical physics of networks.
fac

Carol Livermore

Associate Professor
Mechanical and Industrial Engineering
livermore@neu.edu, Office: 303 Dana, Phone: 617.373.4922
MEMS-enabled systems for assistive technologies, energy harvesting, and microscale vacuum systems, Tissue engineering via MEMS-enabled cell assembly and origami folding, and Carbon nanotube-based energy storage

fac

Ennio Mingolla

Professor and Chair
Speech & Language Pathology & Audiology & Professor of Psychology
e.mingolla@neu.edu, Office: 106 Forsyth, Phone: 617.373.5811
Development and empirical testing of neural network models of visual perception, notably the segmentation, grouping, and contour formation processes of early and middle vision in primates, and on the transition of these models to technological applications
fac

Rupal Patel

Associate Professor
Speech & Language Pathology& Audiology
r.patel@neu.edu, Office: 204 Forsyth, Phone: 617.373.5842
Speech communication and human computer interfaces
fac

Misha Pavel

Professor of Practice
Computer & Information Science and Bouvé College of Health Sciences
pavelm@ccs.neu.edu, Office: 476 WVH, Phone: 617.373.2462
Multi-scale computational modeling of complex behaviors of biological systems applied in healthcare, engineering, and augmentation of human performance
fac

Magy Seif El-Nasr

Associate Professor
College of Arts, Media, and Design and College of Computer and Information Sciences
m.seifel-nasr@neu.edu, Office: 100 ME, Phone: 617.373.3928
Interactive entertainment research: design & development of visual aesthetic tools for 3D environments and user experience understanding