You are here

Faculty Profile


  • PhD (1983), Mechanical Engineering, Oklahoma State University

Research & Scholarship Interests

Nanomanufacturing, nano and microscale printing of sensors and electronics, nano and micro control, particulate and chemical defects in semiconductor manufacturing, high rate nanomanufacturing, NEMS devices and nanomaterials based nanoelectronics
Affiliated With

Department Research Areas

College Research Initiatives

Honors & Awards

  • 2013 Institute of Environmental Sciences and Technology’s Willis J. Whitfield Award.
  • 2006 Nanotech Briefs National Nano50™ Award, category: Innovator, National
  • 2006 Outstanding Faculty, SØren Buus Outstanding Research Award, Northeastern University
  • 2005 Aspiration Award, Northeastern University
  • 2005 Induction, Alpha Nu Chapter, Phi Beta Delta
  • 2004 Guest of Honor, Opening Ceremony, MicroBio Chip Research Center, Hanyang University, Ansan, Korea
  • 2000 ASMC DuPont Photomasks Best Paper Award, Annual IEEE/SEMI Advanced Semiconductor Manufacturing Conference
  • 1999 Elected as R. L. Patrick Fellow of the Adhesion Society
  • 1997 ASME Computers in Engineering Division Chair Award
  • 1997 ASME Computers in Engineering Conference Chair Award
  • 1996 Elected as a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME)
  • 1993, 1994 Fulbright Senior Scholar Award, Egypt
  • 1993 Elected as an Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)
  • 1990 Best Paper Award, ASME Computers in Engineering Conference
  • 1990 John W. Graham, Jr. Faculty Research Award, Clarkson University
  • 1988 Dow Outstanding Young Faculty Award, American Society of Engineering Education (ASEE)
  • 1988 Northeastern Region AIAA Faculty Advisor Award
  • 1986 Ralph R. Teetor National Educational Award, Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE)
  • 1986 AIAA Northeastern Region Special Service Citation Award

Professional Affiliations

  • R. L. Patrick Fellow, Adhesion Society
  • Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineers
  • Associate Fellow, American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
  • Member, American Society of Engineering Education
  • Member, American Vacuum Society
  • Member, Electrochemical Society
  • Senior Member, Institute of Environmental Sciences
  • Life Member, Fulbright Association
  • Member, Materials Research Society

Selected Publications

  • C. Yilmaz, A. Sirman, A. Halder, A. Busnaina, High-Rate Assembly of Nanomaterials on Insulating Surfaces Using Electro-Fluidic Directed Assembly, ACS Nano, 11(8), 2017, 7679-7689
  • C. Yilmaz, C. Sarisozen, V. Torchilin, A. Busnaina, Novel Nanoprinting for Oral Delivery of Poorly Soluble Drugs, Methodist DeBakey Cardiovascular Journal, 12(3), 2016, 157-162
  • H. Cho, S. Somu, J.-Y. Lee, H. Jeong, A. Busnaina, High-Rate Nanoscale Offset Printing Process Using Directed Assembly and Transfer of Nanomaterials, Advanced Materials, 27, 2015, 1759-1766
  • C. Yilmaz, A.E. Cetin, G. Goutzamanidis, J. Huang, S. Somu, H. Altug, D. Wei, A. Busnaina, Three-Dimensional Crystalline and Homogeneous Metallic Nanostructures Using Directed-Assembly of Nanoparticles, ACS Nano, 8(5), 2014, 4547-4558
  • H.Y. Jung, Y.L. Kim, S. Park, A.A. Datar, H.–J. Lee, J. Huang, S. Somu, A. Busnaina, Y.J. Jung, Y.-K. Kwon, A High-Performance H2S Detection by Redox Reactions in Semiconducting Carbon Nanotube-Based Devices, Analyst, 138(23), 2013, 7206-7211
See Google Scholar Profile for all publications »

Related News

December 14, 2017

MIE Professor Ahmed Busnaina, director of the Center for High-Rate Nanomanufacturing, unveiled NanoOPS Gen 2, the university’s second-generation-nanoscale offset printing system located in the George J. Kostas Research Institute for Homeland Security in Burlington.

September 6, 2017

MIE Professor Ahmed Busnaina, the Director of Northeastern’s NSF Center for High-rate Nanomanufacturing, was invited by The National Center for Nano Science and Technology in China to be part of this year Directors' Forum for Nanotechnology in Beijing on August 28, 2017.

July 24, 2017

The Methodist DeBakey Cardiovascular Journal (MDCVJ) reports on leading edge research, diagnosis, and treatments from specialists at the Houston Methodist DeBakey Heart & Vascular Center and...

Related Events


University of Massachusetts Club, One Beacon Street, Boston MA

1:00 pm to 6:30 pm