You are here

ECE Speaker: Professor Michelle Effros, California Institute of Technology


140 ISEC

November 10, 2017 10:00 am
November 10, 2017 10:00 am

Speaker: Michelle Effros, George Van Osdol Professor of Electrical Engineering, California Institute of Technology

Title: Cooperation with Consequence for Network Communication

Almost 70 years ago, Shannon stunned the world by demonstrating the power of noisy communication channels to deliver information reliably. Remarkably, the potential impact of those channels inside larger networks is just now coming to be understood.  This talk will highlight surprises and open questions from this continuing field of discovery, focusing particularly on scenarios where a little cooperation between communicating nodes can have a disproportionately large impact on the performance of the network as a whole.

Michelle Effros is the George Van Osdol Professor of Electrical Engineering at the California Institute of Technology. Her research interests are primarily in the area of information theory for communication networks -- with particular interest in developing tools for understanding large networks traditionally considered impenetrable to information theoretic techniques. Prof. Effros has received a number of awards and fellowships including the NSF CAREER Award, the Charles Lee Powell Foundation Award, the Richard Feynman-Hughes Fellowship, an Okawa Research Grant, a citation by Technology Review as one of the world’s top young innovators, and a Communication and Information Theory Society Joint Paper Award.  She is a fellow of IEEE and a member of Tau Beta Pi, Phi Beta Kappa, and Sigma Xi. She served as President of the IEEE Information Theory Society in 2015 and has served on a large number of publications committees, technical program committees, and advisory boards including the Advisory Committee and the Committee of Visitors for the Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE) Directorate at the National Science Foundation and the TAB Strategic Planning Committee for IEEE.